Does my carbon footprint look big in this?

September 2, 2010 at 10:29 pm Leave a comment

We are about to announce the projects that have been chosen to participate in our Green Next Practice Programme, a national innovation programme for community and voluntary sector projects that are greening public services in a truly innovative way. The programme, funded by the Office for Civil Society, will provide brokerage support to a handful of high-potential third sector innovations that can help to reduce carbon emissions or build society’s capacity to reduce carbon emissions. Next week we will announce full details of the projects so watch this space to find out more.

As Head of Communications at Innovation Unit I play an important role in this programme as we want to tell as many people as possible about the great work that these projects are doing. This week I’ve been working with my colleagues to find out about the amazing stories these projects have to tell so ‘green’ issues have been on my radar and I started wondering about my own carbon footprint.

Two of our projects are helping to reduce the carbon footprint of the NHS. The NHS is committed to helping drive change towards a low carbon society, publishing the ambitious carbon reduction strategy this year. Whilst doing some research I found a handy tool that can give me a rough idea of my personal carbon footprint that’s on the NHS sustainability website.

I do try to be aware of my effect on the environment. I walk or cycle for pretty much all of my journeys, unplug appliances when not in use and recycle as much as possible. A major vice is shopping but I live in East London where it’s more than acceptable to wear ‘vintage’ or as my nan would call them, second hand, clothes so I guess a lot of my clothes shopping counts as recycling. I do like to get some sun when possible and I felt rather guilty looking at how much my flights rack up the carbon naughties. I was very relieved to see that my carbon footprint wasn’t too bad – it was lower than the UK average but not nearly as low as the world target. What am I going to sacrifice to get down to the target goal?

print screen grab of the results

But I only wear size 3 shoes!

It gives you a lot to think about. I’m going to get all my colleagues to work out their carbon footprints too. Why not have a look at yours to see where you are and where you need to be to do your bit.

Kathryn Tyler

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back to school reading – some great posts from great blogs Boris’ Bikes: the only way to travel

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Innovation Unit website

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Twitter Updates

Follow innovation_unit on Twitter

