Nagging people to change their behaviour

January 11, 2011 at 5:36 pm 3 comments

Nagging. I’m sure there are quite a few people out there who have ‘nagging’ down to a fine art – like me. Usually, ‘nagging’ is seen in a negative light – but chin up people – there is finally a reason to be proud of your ‘nagging’ abilities.

I read this blog this afternoon about behaviour change in relation to environmental issues. Behaviour change appears to be a real challenge in environmental circles – particularly on a mass level – and will be one of the major barriers in achieving the government’s ambitious goals to reduce carbon emissions by 80 percent by 2050. The author argues that people’s behaviours are more likely to be influenced by someone in their close knit circles than a celebrity like David Beckham. Apparently, ‘69% of men say they are most likely to be influenced by those that nag them’.  I’m not saying another word…okay may be just one more sentence. If nagsters have ever needed a legitimate reason to hone their nagging skills – then here it is – make the most of it!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Vote now on the Guardian Classroom Innovation Awards Suggestions for Innovative reading by Harvard’s John O’Leary

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Claire McEneaney  |  January 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Raj, we’re not nagging, we’re reminding… 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. alex  |  January 12, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Raj

    If the government did anything useful for me, I might change my behaviour for it. But all they do is tax me, fail to clear the rubbish, put up VAT and waste resources. They nag me all the time with their nonsense adverts about saving the planet.

    Then they build wind farms to destroy the peat bogs, ruin the view, stand idle for 80% of the time and line the utility company pockets with subsidy.

    What’s in it for me ? Nothing….

    Their example is not one I would ever wish to follow. Nor have the MPs covered themselves in behavioural glory.

    If they said they would pay me to re-cycle, I might try harder. If they paid me more to get all my community doing it, I might try harder still.

    But at present the contract is totally unequal, and totally broke.

    Until they appreciate the notion of public value, why should any of us be likely to change?

    Reply
  • 3. Raj  |  January 12, 2011 at 9:29 am

    That’s a very interesting comment, Alex. Particularly the last sentence – it made me think about our role in BIG SOCIETY and the ‘conditions’ that perhaps we need the government to frame so we don’t feel like the onus is entirely on us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Innovation Unit website

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Twitter Updates

Follow innovation_unit on Twitter

