The World’s Most Innovative Schools: Hyper Island

March 16, 2011 at 9:00 am 5 comments

by Alec Patton

[video: ‘Hyper Island in a Nutshell’]

In an abandoned military prison on the remote Swedish island of Stumholmen, strange things happening: people are coming from across the globe to collaborate on projects and deliver them to clients. The ‘students’ stay for days, weeks, or months at a time, during which they have no teachers and no ‘tests’, and they leave with no formal qualifications, but design firms snatch them up.

This is Hyper Island, and I want to go there. To get ‘Hyper Island in a nutshell’, watch the video at the top of the post (it’s only 3 minutes and 31 seconds long). And fear not if a remote island in Sweden sounds like too much of a trek, because Hyper Island is coming to the UK

If you want to know what a five-day Hyper Island project looks like, and you can spare about six minutes, watch this video:

Entry filed under: Education & Children's Services.

Greening Public Services in the north-east Dispatch from High Tech High: Chris’s class #lfvisithth

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Asher Jacobsberg  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:01 am

    A very interesting model, but it’s ‘school’ in the American sense, i.e. not ‘school’ but ‘college’ or ‘university’.

    I wonder if/how this model could be translated into primary and secondary education? I could definitely see it as part of the mix of what goes on in a school.

    Reply
    • 2. alecpatton  |  March 16, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      You’re quite right about that. Since I started writing the series I’ve been unashamedly loose about the definition of ‘school’ (hence why I included hole-in-the-wall!) but I did wonder whether departing from school-aged children was a step too far.

      I’ve decided I’m cool with it, because learning is a lifelong endeavor, and I’m not sure the division of life into ‘the time of learning’ and ‘the time of work’ is an entirely helpful one (obviously, child labour laws are a good thing, but you know what I mean!)

      Having said that, yeah, it’s still a bit of a stretch to include a university-level institution! But when I read about a design school on a remote prison island, I couldn’t resist writing it up! And I can tell you exactly what it would look like applied to a primary and secondary context, because I’m typing this in a hotel room in San Diego, where I’ve been visiting High Tech High for the past three days!

      Reply
      • 3. Asher Jacobsberg  |  March 16, 2011 at 1:53 pm

        Yes, I’ve been following the tweets with interest.

        I see how the project-based stuff would work, it’s more the real commissioning of real projects that interests me. I think that’s the best type of learning, but what would people commission primary-age students to do? Product design and marketing maybe?

        Actually I recall now that we did something similar in my sixth form: local orgs commissioned groups of us to carry out real projects. I had to do something for the Young Farmers. It was a pretty unmitigated disaster as a schem, but that was probably largely to do with the fact that everyone was forced to do it in groups they did not choose. It was also a very academically-focussed school and this was presented in such a way that it was clear it wasn’t part of that.

  • 4. Jo  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I find the first video rather alarming – what if I don’t want “all the learning” to be “based upon industry needs”?

    But the second video shows it’s quite a familiar model. You could be putting on a musical at the end of the week or coding an online application.

    Reply
    • 5. alecpatton  |  March 16, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      Good point Jo – you kept a cool head while I was seduced by the amusing animation! Having said that, I hope Asher’s point that it’s aimed at ‘people who want to get hired by design firms as soon as they finish’ rather than kids might assuage some of your concerns.

      I guess the best way to understand it is as a way of doing vocational learning – for which being driven by industry needs seems appropriate (though personally, I’d want any learning institution to put ‘what the world needs’ above ‘what the industry needs’.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Innovation Unit website

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

Archives

Twitter Updates

Follow innovation_unit on Twitter

